Personally thankful

true
Hello and Happy Thanksgiving.
The truth is I didn’t have in mind to write anything about Thanksgiving, since we don’t celebrate this in Holland. I actually had completely different plans for today’s post. But things can change in just a glimpse of an eye. And that’s something important to keep in mind.
I try not to be personal in my blog and don’t want to overload you with my feelings and emotions. On the contrary, I try to be as optimistic and light as possible. But today I really feel the need to share something more personal with you.
I had a friend who was my whole universe and it has been a year that we don’t speak, other than saying hallo and goodbye. And most of the time when you have someone near you don’t realize how much they mean to you. These kind of situations though, always make me think about the beautiful things we people have  in life and take for granted. I don’t want to get too deep, but please, take a moment and think.
And since the day is all about being thankful, I need to share with you a couple of things that make me feel thankful. My friends and family. Maybe too common but seriously, I can’t even imagine my life without the people I love. First of all I want to thank my friends and boyfriend for loving me and accepting me for who I truly am, without judging or pushing me to change. I want to thank them for being in my life and I need them to know they are the family I choose to have. And that’s just very special and important to me. Secondly, I want my family to know how terribly proud I am that I’m one of them!! And I totally mean that. I had the chance to grow up with the privileges of being a child of a family who wasn’t really mine. But I was the eldest child of a lovely and huge family.
The perks of being a divorced mother… believe me…….was hard sometimes! I have had hard times and great times too, but I never never forget how much I love my kids and that is why I go one. And when I do, please someone hit me 🙂 Especially moments like this make me feel even luckier.  Because losing people who are special to you always makes people embrace life. But our life is about to be created…and I’m so thankful for that!

Please have a great time today. Take care of your lovely families and make sure they know how much you love them. Cause I’m sure you do. Even if they are a bit weird, loud or anything else funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

